Beatrix Becker




Date/Time
4. December 2015
19:00 - 21:00

Location
Steinway-Haus Hamburg

Beatrix Becker – Piano Stories

Beatrix Becker is telling PIANO STORIES – tales sensually floating between classical and world music. She invites you to a journey under your skin, fell free to laugh and cry, enjoy and dream.

Explore the world on the grand piano. Track life’s sounds on black and white keys. Attune yourself to the delicate balance between deep melancholy and immense zest for life, to bubbling playfulness and deliberate slowness, to weightlessness and longing. Beatrix Becker invites you to participate in her life with her own compositions in an interplay between classic, tango, flamenco, jazz miniature and epic film music. She charmingly steals the hearts of her audience, playing dreamily and intensively in almost a sleep trance. She is inspired by Eric Satie, Isaac Albéniz, Ludovico Einaudi, by the film music by John Williams and Yann Tiersen, and by places, impressions of nature and encounters on her unusual journey.

Before embarking on her career as a pianist, Beatrix studied classical clarinet and piano. She has been the band lead on several CDs and over 100 annual concerts of tango, flamenco and jazz. In winter 2012 she journeyed to Buenos Aires where she knocked on the doors of conservatories and found the pulsing, vivacious and somewhat incongruous metropolis an ideal inspiration for the compositions that are typical of her first solo recordings that PIANONews called “a remarkable expression of our times”. The ‘sound poet’, as she has been called by TIP-Berlin, spent several months in Switzerland. Her previous CD “Water Music” reflects her impressions of unspoiled Swiss nature cast in sound. She is currently working on her 3rd solo CD.

Beatrix Becker has remained inquisitive despite her extensive experience. She keeps her senses open and nourishes her curiosity. In ‘Piano Stories’, she and her music entertain, touch, and inspire with her courage to bring forth accessible melodies with undertones of surprising crossovers.

Beatrix Becker: piano, base clarinet, composition
Gregor Fuhrmann: cello

www.steinway-hamburg.de

Piano Stories

4th Dez 2015
Lade Karte ...

04.12.2015
19:00

Steinway-Haus Hamburg


sinnlich fließende Klaviergeschichten zwischen Film- und Weltmusik. Eine Reise unter die Haut, es darf gelacht und auch geweint werden, genossen und geträumt.

Die Welt auf dem Flügel erkunden. Auf schwarz-weißen Tasten dem Klang des bunten Lebens nachspüren. Die delikate Balance ausloten – zwischen tiefer Traurigkeit und unbändiger Lebensfreude, perlender Verspieltheit und bewusster Entschleunigung, Schwerelosigkeit und Sehnsucht. Beatrix Becker lädt mit Eigenkompositionen im Spannungsfeld von Klassik, Tango, Flamenco, Jazzminiatur und epischer Filmmusik zur Mitfahrt auf der Reise ihres Lebens ein. Charmant moderiert sie sich in die Herzen ihrer Konzertbesucher, verträumt und traumwandlerisch intensiv spielt sie sich unter die Haut. Inspirieren lässt sich die Berlinerin von Eric Satie, Isaac Albéniz, Ludovico Einaudi, von Filmmusiken eines John Williams oder Yann Tiersen und nicht zuletzt von Orten, Natureindrücken, Begegnungen auf ihrem außergewöhnlichen Weg.

Vor ihrer Karriere als Pianistin studierte Beatrix Becker klassische Klarinette und Klavier und spielte als Bandleaderin auf mehreren CDs und über 100 jährlichen Konzerten Tango-, Flamenco- und Jazzmusik. Im Winter 2012 folgte sie ihrem Bauchgefühl nach Buenos Aires, klopfte bei Konservatorien an und fand in der pulsierenden, lebensfrohen, ein wenig aus der Zeit gefallenen Metropole den idealen Besinnungsort für ebensolche Kompositionen, die ihre ersten Solo-Aufnahmen prägen und von der PIANONews als „ein bemerkenswerter Ausdruck unserer Zeit“ bezeichnet wurden. Als „Artist in Residence“ verbrachte die „Tondichterin“ mehrere Monate in der Schweiz – ihre CD „Wassermusiken“ spiegelt in Klang gegossen die Eindrücke aus der unberührten Schweizer Natur. Aktuell arbeitet sie an ihrer dritten CD „Phoenix“.

Bei aller Erfahrung bleibt Beatrix Becker eine Suchende, hält die Sinne offen, pflegt ihre Neugier. „Es ist eine Offenbarung, sie dabei zu begleiten“ (Tip-Berlin). Sie und ihre Musik unterhalten, berühren und beflügeln – mit Mut zur gefälligen Melodie ebenso wie zum überraschenden Grenzgang in den Zwischentönen ihrer „Piano Stories“.

Beatrix Becker: Klavier, Bassklarinette, Komposition
Gregor Fuhrmann: Violoncello

www.steinway-hamburg.de