Beatrix Becker & Friends




Date/Time
20. January 2018
17:00 - 20:00

Location
Residential Estate

Celebrating 50 years of sister city partnerschip – Los Angeles-Berlin

Beatrix Becker: Piano, clarinet, bass clarinet, composition
Benjamin Doppscher: Guitar
Georgy Gusev: Violoncello
(more information soon)
: Tango dance

Music reaches people where words fail. It can tear down walls and build bridges, open hearts and create new dialogues among the musicians themselves and their audiences. Between members of different cultures, religions, genders and social groups, and among those who could see each other as nothing but foreigners – until they felt equally touched by the same music.

With her Bridges of Music, the Berlin-based musician and composer Beatrix Becker introduces this idea to a world audience. In her works she combines such diverse styles as klezmer and tango, jazz and film music, in the search of new sounds and moods, in Buenos Aires and Switzerland, in Jerusalem and New York City. She also hosts meeting rooms with great musicians (such as Giora Feidman, Noah Hoffeld, Cora Venus Lunny).

As Beatrix Becker pursued this artistic path she ever more became aware of how easy music connects different people especially in times when understanding is more necessary than ever. Bridges of Music launched an international concert in Istanbul shortly before the military coup in summer 2016. Since this formative experience Becker has committed to demonstrate the importance of communication through music via concerts and artistic workshops.

On January 20, 2018 Beatrix Becker will play piano and clarinet in a program together with the Berlin based guitarists Benjamin Doppscher and Georgy Gusev, cellist from Los Angeles. The versatile trio will create a musical tango-story telling of life passages and transformations, of endings and new beginnings, of dreams, courage, and hope. Playing with passion, Beatrix and her companions traverse tango, klezmer, flamenco and jazz vignettes. entertaining music in the best sense: refreshing, animating, and slightly airy and virtuos. They revel in the humorous sadness of klezmer, a music that has seen everything in life – mercilessly honest and beautiful human, forgiving and hopeful.

Beatrix Becker & friends – Building Bridges with Music

20th Jan 2018
Lade Karte ...

20.01.2018
17:00

Residential Estate


Celebrating 50 years of sister city partnerschip – Los Angeles-Berlin

Beatrix Becker: Flügel, Klarinette, Bassklarinette, Komposition und künstlerische Leitung
Benjamin Doppscher: Gitarre
Geory Gusev
: Violoncello
(Information folgt): Tangotanz

Musik erreicht Menschen, wo Worte versagen. Sie kann Mauern einreißen und Brücken bauen, Herzen öffnen und neuen Dialog anbahnen. Zwischen den Musikern untereinander und ihrem Publikum. Zwischen Angehörigen unterschiedlicher Kulturen, Religionen, Geschlechter und gesellschaftlicher Schichten. Zwischen Menschen, die im Gegenüber nur das bedrohlich Fremde sahen, bis sie gemeinsam von Musik berührt wurden.

Mit ihrem Herzensprojekt Bridges of Music trägt die Berliner Musikerin und Komponistin Beatrix Becker diesen Gedanken in die Welt. Sie verbindet in ihren Werken so unterschiedliche Stilistiken wie Klezmer und Tango, Jazz und Filmmusik. Sie geht auf die Suche nach Klängen und Stimmungen, in Buenos Aires und der Schweiz, in Jerusalem und New York City. Und öffnet Begegnungsräume mit großartigen Musikern (u.a. Giora Feidman, Noah Hoffeld, Cora Venus Lunny).

Je weiter Beatrix Becker ihr künstlerischer Weg führte, umso deutlicher wurde ihr, wie einfach Musik unterschiedliche Menschen miteinander in Verbindung bringt. Auch und gerade in Zeiten, in denen Verständigung nötiger scheint denn je. Den Anstoß zu Bridges of Music gab ein Auslandskonzert in Istanbul kurz vor dem Militärputsch im Sommer 2016. Seit diesem prägenden Erlebnis engagiert sich Becker bewusst für Verständigung mit Mitteln der Musik.

Am 20. Januar 2018 ist die Pianistin und Klarinettistin nun zu hören mit dem Berliner Gitarristen Benjamin Doppscher und dem Cellisten Georgy Gusev aus Los Angeles. Das vielseitige Trio kreiert ein musikalisches Tangomärchen, das von Vergehen und Werden, Ende und Neuanfang, Träumen, Hoffnungen und Mut erzählt. Es entsteht ein Spannungsfeld zwischen Tango, Klezmer und Jazzminiatur, Unterhaltungsmusik im besten Sinne: animierend, luftig leicht, mit Gehalt und Virtuosität. So schwelgt das Trio in der humorvollen Traurigkeit des Klezmer, mischt hinzu die Improvisationslust des Jazz und die spielerische Verruchtheit des Tango. Es entsteht eine Musik, die gnadenlos ehrlich ist, wunderschön menschlich, verzeihend und hoffnungsvoll zugleich.